ensemble & vocal works

Ballad of Antinous (2017) for Soprano voice dedicated to Justine Anderson & Peter Neville

Text by Nicole Butcher

Sop. Hp. Pno./Cel. 4Perc. (Vbs. Mrmb. Crtls. Glock. T.Bel.)

Premiered October 27, 2017 by the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music percussion department, Justine Anderson soprano and conducted by Guy de Plut

Whether (2017) dur. 7"

Text by Nicole Butcher

SA Choir Pno.

Forest Logo jpeg.jpg

Himeros I (2016) dur. 15" dedicated to Georgia Royes

Fl./A.Fl. Cl./B.Cl. Tpt. Trbn. Perc. (3Tom-Toms) Pno. Vln. Vlc. D.B.

Also a version for 

Fl./A.Fl. Tpt. Perc. (3Tom-Toms) Pno. Vln. Vlc. D.B.

Commissioned and premiered by Forest Collective, conducted by the composer at the Metropolis New Music Festival, Melbourne Recital Centre May 2016

Sikinnis IIIb (2016) dur. 5.30" dedicated to Stephanie Arnold

Pno. Vln. Vlc.


Sirens (2015-16) dur. "20

2Vln. Vla. Vlc. optional Sop.

Also version for 3Fl. Cla. Sop.  

air_logo_black copy.jpg
bayside_logo_landscape_cmyk copy.jpg

Commissioned and premiered by Allotropy! Pop Up String Quartet through the Victorian Government's peak arts body, Creative Victoria

Written while a Bayside Artist in Residence, Bayside City Council

First performed at Forest Collective's 2016 concert series, presented as apart of Bayside City Council's Resonance

In the Red Fire of Passion (2015) dur.10" dedicated to Igor Mihajlovic

Text by Oscar Wilde, from The Duchess of Padua

Fl. Sop. Hp. 

Commissioned by SoundSCAPE New Music Festival, Italy

Premiered by Cochlea Duo and Katelyn Isaacson Soprano July 2015

Written while a Bayside Artist in Residence, Bayside City Council

Australian premiere performance by Rosemary Ball Soprano, Tanya Vincent Flute and Jessica Fotinos Harp as apart of the 2016 Forest Collective concert series


air_logo_black copy.jpg

Forest Logo jpeg.jpg
air_logo_black copy.jpg

Orpheus and the Cave (2015) dur. 15" dedicated to Benjamin Northey

Text derived from the libretto of Orfeo ed Euridice, Ranieri de' Calzabigi and L'Orfeo, Alessandro Striggio

Fl. Cl. B.Cl. 2 voices Hp. 3Vln./Vla. Perc. (B.D. Gng. Wind Chimes)

Revised version for Fl./Pic./A.Fl./B.Fl. Cl. S.Rec./A.Rec/C.B.Rec/B.Rec. 2 voices Perc. (B.D. Gng. Tri. Wind chimes) Hp. Pno. Vln. Vla. V.Cel. D.B.

Commissioned and premiered by Forest Collective at their 2015 concert Moonfall May 2015 at Melbourne Recital Centre as apart of the Metropolis New Music Festival, Rosemary Ball & Teresa Duddy soprano solos

Written while a Bayside Artist in Residence, Bayside City Council

Performed by Forest Collective at their 2018 concert Berceuse at Church of All Nations, Daniel Todd tenor & Kate Bright soprano

...Lawson’s usual lush sound palette is stripped back and spread about the room. The spatial distribution of the ensemble is some of the most effective that I have heard.
— Matthew Lorenzon, Partial Durations http://partialdurations.com/
Another standout moment in tonight’s program is Evan’s Part III from Orpheus for two voices and ensemble.
— Anni Kalco, https://www.cutcommonmag.com/live-review-forest-collective-presents-berceuse/

Forest Logo jpeg.jpg

Winter Canticle (2014) dur. 11” dedicated to the memory of Joe Waterman

Text by William Shakespeare

2Sop. Mez.Sop. Hp. 2Vln. Vla. Vlc. D.B.

Commissioned and premiered by Forest Collective at their 2014 concert Flooding in the Garden December 2014, Rosemary Ball, Stefanie Dingnis & Christine Storey soprano soloists

"The premier of Lawson’s Winter Canticle proved the highpoint of the evening. Violin and harp created the texture of feet treading lightly on the forest floor while voices, starting softly, gradually increased in intensity to form whispers of text from Shakespeare’s A Winter’s Tale. While experimental, the music was by no means difficult on the ear, and the various layers of fricatives, half-formed words, soaring high notes and interjections from the ensemble were impressively executed with dramatic effect."

- Alexandra Mathew for Limelight Magazine 

"The piece is a reworking of previous material, taking the emotional structure of Shakespeare’s The Winter’s Tale as a formal basis. An introductory episode of drones and vocalises gives way to an astounding rhythmic explosion. The three vocalists declare “Winter!” as febrile string phrases scurry about. The voices speak and whisper phrases from the play in an emotional polyphony, accompanied by energetic scrubbing in the strings. Lawson has learnt well from his twentieth-century heroes including Britten and Vaughan Williams; even at itsdynamic peak the ensemble is always colourful, transparent and mobile."

- Matthew Lorenzon for Partial Durations

Sikinnis II (2012, rev. 2014) in 3 movements dur. 12” 

Fl. Vla. Hp.

Commissioned by Judy and Peter Johnson in dedication for Claire Johnson’s completion of her P.H.D. 

Premièred by Petrichore at the Forest Collective performance Shared Sounds April 6th and 7th 2013. Also performed by Petrichor at Conduit Arts Space on May 22 2013 and at Medley Hall, August 2013 

"Evan Lawson’s Skinnis for Flute, Viola and Harp (now on its second outing) was the only piece to utilise the harp’s majestic glissandi and full, ringing chords. These kitschy effects were welcome after the crystal-clear articulation and motoric effects of the “bean-counting harp.”

- Matthew Lorenzon for Partial Durations 

Let the Rivers Die Down (2012) dur. 6” dedicated to Jessica King

Text from an ancient Greek Hymn

SA Choir Pno.

Commissioned by the Australian Children's Choir 


Circe & the Ballad of Melierax (2011) dur. 7:30” 

logo copy.jpg

Fl./Picc. Cl. Pno. Vln. Vlc. 

Premiered by Syzygy Ensemble, August, 2011 at Kingston Arts Centre 

Copy of image001.png

Dominico's Mask (2010) dur. 15"

Fl. Cla. Hp.

Premiered by the composer, clarinet, Lina Andonovska, flute and Jessica Fotinos, Harp, at the VCA 2010

Copy of image001.png

Ballad of the Crying Satyr (2008) dur. 12:30” 

Text by the composer

Fl./Picc. Cl. Bsn. Pno./Cel. Hp. Bari. Vln. Vlc.

Premiered by the composer, conducted by Christine Storey, at the VCA November 2008.

Also performed in recital by baritone Joe Coghlan, November 2010, at the VCA, conducted by the composer

And by Forest Collective, May, 2011, sung by the composer and conducted by Louis Sharpe