orpheus (2015-2018)

Libretto devised by the Composer from the libretto of Orfeo ed Euridice, Ranieri de' Calzabigi, L'Orfeo, Alessandro Striggio and words by Phemocles and William Shakespeare.

A Ballet-Opera in 4 parts

Part 1 - and Calais

Part 2 - and Eurydice

Part 3 - and the Cave

Part 4 - and the Pangaion Hills  


Tenor - Orpheus

Mezzo Soprano - Eurydice

Baritone - Calaïs 


Fl./A.Fl./Pic./B.Fl., Spr.Rec./Sop.Rec./Al.Rec./B.Rec./C.B.Rec., Cl., T.Sax./A.Sax., Tbn./Skbt.

Perc. (B.D. Gng.)


Vln. V.Cel. D.B.

Commissioned by Forest Collective & Prismatx Ensemble

Dedicated to Mum & Dad

dur. 70”

Forest Logo jpeg.jpg

2019 Premiere production

Another standout moment in tonight’s program is Evan’s Part III from Orpheus for two voices and ensemble.
— Anni Kalco, https://www.cutcommonmag.com/live-review-forest-collective-presents-berceuse/

Orpheus - Raymond Khong

Eurydice - Kate Bright

Calaïs - Joseph Ewart

Composer & Musical Director - Evan Lawson 
Choreographer & Dancer - Ashley Dougan
Costume Designer - Jane Noonan
Set Designer - Candice MacAllister 
Dramaturgy - John Pyburn  

Presented by Forest Collective, as part of Convent Live and Midsumma Festival

January 31 - February 3, 2019

Sacred Heart Oratory, Abbotsford Convent

Production supported by the Victorian Government through Creative Victoria

Abbotsford Convent.jpg
Midsumma_Logo_Black (1).jpg